Miss Porter's School - Admissions Office
Farmington, CT

     
Soon after completion of a comprehensive master plan, DRA was engaged by Miss Porter’s School to explore the feasibility of repurposing the historic Grist Mill as part of their Farmington, CT campus.  DRA and its consultant team assessed the Grist Mill, presenting several alternative campus uses. Ultimately, Miss Porter’s School determined that the facility would serve as the Admissions building, welcoming prospective students and their families.

Built in mid-1600’s, the original mill had many uses, most recently as an upscale restaurant. Repurposing the mill to house the school’s admissions office involved a complete renovation of the structure, beginning with demolition down to the framing. New windows and doors were installed and new finishes applied throughout. Updated building systems meeting, or exceeding today’s codes and energy efficiency requirements were installed. The landscape design provides access to the building with updated parking, plantings, stairs, and ramping. In addition, a plaza area for school receptions and other events at the riverfront was created. Along with new offices, meeting, and conference space, there are two large multi-function reception and meeting areas overlooking the river, with exposed structure and expansive views to the river below.  Today, the facility serves as a memorable ‘threshold experience’ for all who come to visit the Farmington campus.
 
 

Details:

Project Size: 6,500SF
Construction Cost: $3,400,000

Principal-in-Charge:

Jim Barrett, AIA, LEED

Project Manager:

Angela Cahill, AIA, LEED

To learn more about this project, services provided, and our Independent School practice, please email us:

info@draws.com

Massachusetts Studio
235 Bear Hill Road, Fourth Floor
Waltham, MA 02451
T. 617.964.1700
F. 617.964.1701

Connecticut Studio
225 Oakland Road, Studio 205
South Windsor, CT 06074
T. 860.644.8300
F. 860.644.8301

 

Portfolio - DRA Architects